When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Products or services may be offered by an affiliated entity. Learn more.

SF_WinkBed_1
Overall Rating 8.9

Get $300 off all mattresses at Winkbeds


Price Range: $1,149 – $2,049

Mattress Type: Innerspring

Firmness Options: Medium Soft (4), Medium Firm (6), Firm (7), Firm (8)

Ratings Summary

ratings/sf-mattress-motion-isolation Icon Motion Isolation

6/10

ratings/sf-mattress-edge-support Icon Edge Support

9/10

ratings/sf-mattress-temperature-control Icon Temperature Control

8.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-ease-of-movement Icon Ease of Movement

7/10

ratings/sf-mattress-off-gassing Icon Off Gassing

7/10

ratings/sf-mattress-pressure-relief Icon Pressure Relief

7.5/10

Pros & Cons:

  • sf-check Icon
    Multiple firmness options — ideal for any sleeper type
  • sf-check Icon
    Great temperature control
  • sf-check Icon
    Nice balance of support and pressure relief
  • sf-close Icon
    Some might find the coils too bouncy
  • sf-close Icon
    Strong off-gassing smell for the first 48 to 72 hours after unboxing

WinkBeds is an online mattress company that specializes in luxury mattresses at an affordable price-point. WinkBeds currently has three main models: the GravityLux, the EcoCloud, and the WinkBed. The GravityLux is an all-foam model, the EcoCloud is a latex hybrid mattress, and the WinkBed is a hybrid model.

The WinkBed Mattress — one of our best mattresses of the year and a best mattress for back pain recommendation — comes in four firmness options: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus. These options share some similarities but ultimately vary in construction to achieve different firmness levels. The Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer options contain polyfoam and a pocketed coil core, while the Plus features polyfoam, latex, and a pocketed coil core.

We’ll explore the WinkBed’s design and performance based on hands-on testing. We’ll also share what customers like about the mattress.

Choose Softer if:Choose Luxury Firm if:Choose Firm if:Choose Plus if:
  • You weigh under 130 pounds
  • You prefer a plusher sleep surface
  • You want more motion isolation

  • You weigh between 130 and 230 pounds

  • You prefer a moderately plush sleep surface

  • You need a mix of pressure relief and support


  • You weigh over 230 pounds

  • You prefer a responsive surface


  • You weigh over 230 pounds

  • You need an extra firm surface

Testing Team Takeaways

To test the WinkBed Mattress, we had three people on our testing team each take the bed home with them for one week. Here are their initial observations.

Logan Foley

Logan Foley

Editorial Director

Side and back sleeper

130 pounds

Has too many dogs in the bed

I’ve slept on the WinkBed for about five years and it’s been my go to answer when people ask me what mattress I recommend. I have the Luxury Firm version and it’s a great combination of firmness and support with the softness I need to feel cozy.

Danny Noyed

Daniel Noyed

Senior Product Editor

Back sleeper

165 pounds

Likes to dunk head in bowl of ice water in the morning

I had a great time sleeping on the WinkBed. It’s really balanced between support and comfort, so I’m able to sleep well on my back or my side, and it’s pretty solid at temperature control so I don’t get too hot at night. I also recommend the WinkBed to a lot of friends and family. I wouldn’t say it’s a perfect match for everyone, but it’s a great starting point bed that works for a lot of different kinds of sleepers. A lot of people I know end up pretty happy on it, and if they’re not, trying the WinkBed out usually helps them find out what they need from a bed. Just a good, well-rounded, crowd-pleaser.

Brad-684x684

Brad Nehring

Senior Product Analyst

Side and back sleeper

215 pounds

Sleeps under a weighted blanket

I really like the WinkBed for its gentle contouring. There’s nice cushioning for my sore spots, but I never feel like the mattress is hugging me too closely. The zoned support is another nice feature. You can really feel that extra pushback from the coils around your midsection, and I haven’t had any issues with sinking too deeply into the mattress.

WinkBed Video Review

Watch the video below to see how the WinkBed Mattress performed when put to the test in our lab.

Sleeping Style and Body Weight

Softer WinkBed

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

9.5/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8/10

130-230 lbs

7/10

Above 230 lbs

6/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7/10

130-230 lbs

6/10

Above 230 lbs

5/10

Luxury Firm WinkBed

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8/10

130-230 lbs

9.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

9/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

7.5/10

Above 230 lbs

6/10

Firmer WinkBed

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

WinkBed Plus

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

The WinkBed comes in four firmness options, so there’s a model to suit all sleep positions. Side sleepers gravitate toward the plusher models for pressure relief while back and stomach sleepers usually prefer the support of the firmer models. Factor in body weight when determining your ideal firmness option. Overly firm mattresses contribute to pressure buildup while mattresses that are too soft can lead to poor spinal alignment.

Side Sleepers

The Softer version of the WinkBed is best suited for side sleepers who weigh up to 130 pounds. The Luxury Firm is most comfortable for those who weigh between 130 and 230 pounds and the Firmer and Plus options should be a good fit for most side sleepers who weigh over 230 pounds.

The Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer models have a Euro-top design that cushions the surface, which is ideal for pressure relief in the shoulders and hips. Meanwhile a zoned coil core gives extra support near the midsection to promote proper spinal alignment. The Plus features a polyfoam layer for cushioning and zoned latex and coil layers for added support and pressure relief.

Back Sleepers

Back sleepers need a bed that cushions the spine without sacrificing support. If you weigh under 130 pounds, you’ll find this balance in the Softer and Luxury Firm models. Back sleepers between 130 and 230 pounds should feel most comfortable with the Luxury Firm and Firmer models, while those over 230 pounds receive the most benefits from the extra support of the Firmer and Plus options.

Every version of the WinkBed Mattress features zoning in the coils to prevent uncomfortable sinkage in the hips. Since the Plus version is constructed for larger individuals, it also uses zoning in its latex layer for extra support where back sleepers need it most.

Stomach Sleepers

Since people carry much of their body weight near their bellies and hips, stomach sleepers usually need extra support to prevent the midsection from sagging into the mattress. All of the WinkBed models offer enhanced support in the hips, which is ideal for stomach sleepers.

Stomach sleepers under 130 pounds receive just the right amount of support and hip cushioning from the Luxury Firm model, while those between 130 and 230 pounds felt comfortable on the three firmer models. Stomach sleepers over 230 pounds fared best on the Firmer and Plus options. The Softer WinkBed is too plush for most stomach sleepers.

Mattress Performance

In addition to the hands-on feedback from our team, we conduct a number of quantitative tests in our Test Lab. The below ratings are based on the experience of our testers.

Motion Isolation

6/10

Firmer WinkBed: 6 / 10

Luxury Firm WinkBed: 6 / 10

WinkBed Plus: 7 / 10

Softer WinkBed: 7 / 10

WinkBed

My husband is a big snorer and I am six months pregnant, so we both move quite a bit throughout the night these days. While it’s not perfect, I think the WinkBed does a good job isolating movement enough so we’re not constantly waking each other up. — Logan

All four firmness options of the WinkBed have better motion isolation than many other hybrid models we’ve tested. To measure motion isolation, our testers observe the amount of movement felt when another tester moves across the surface — and when a kettle ball is dropped onto the bed.

The Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer options have multiple layers of polyfoam that significantly absorb vibrations, preventing motion from traveling across the surface. The Softer model absorbs even more motion because of its soft feel and extra polyfoam layer. Although the coil core gives the mattress some bounce, the foam layers are substantial enough to dampen motion transfer.

Pressure Relief

7.5/10

The WinkBed is solid when it comes to pressure relief. The foams take the edge off nicely, but they don’t hug too close. I’m a back sleeper, so I don’t need a ton of cushioning, but I could see side sleepers with lighter builds wanting strong pressure relief. A lot of people I know love the softer options on the WinkBed, so it may be worth going softer than you normally would. — Danny

Like with many hybrid models, the WinkBed’s strong contouring can help relieve painful pressure points. Using pressure-mapping sensors, we found the Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer versions of the mattress generously cradle your body and ease pressure off sensitive joints, thanks largely to the multiple foam layers. The Plus version uses polyfoam and latex layers, which offer gentle contouring as well.

All of the firmness options use zoning in the coil core for more targeted pressure relief and support. This ensures you get pressure relief in the areas of your body where it’s most needed.

Temperature Control

8.5/10

The WinkBed had strong temperature control for a hybrid. The foams weren’t too huggy, and the surface of the bed stayed pretty cool as I slept on it. I’m a really hot sleeper and slept just fine on the WinkBed with breathable sheets. — Danny

Hybrid mattresses tend to be more breathable than all-foam models, and the same is true of the WinkBed. We evaluated the bed using temperature control tests and thermal monitors. We found the WinkBed should help most hot sleepers stay cool and comfortable throughout the night.

All four WinkBed models have a Tencel cover, a material that pulls heat away from the sleeper’s body. The Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer options feature polyfoam infused with cooling gel, which is engineered to minimize heat retention. The Plus version uses polyfoam and latex, which is a naturally breathable material that resists heat buildup.

The WinkBed also has a coil core, which allows significant air circulation, making it one of the best cooling mattresses on the market.

Edge Support

9/10

Firmer WinkBed: 9 / 10

Luxury Firm WinkBed: 9 / 10

WinkBed Plus: 10 / 10

Softer WinkBed: 8.5 / 10

The WinkBed’s edge support depends on which firmness you choose. That said, all four feel fairly sturdy and the Firm and Plus models barely sink at all. Extra perimeter reinforcement goes a long way with this mattress. — Brad

While many hybrid models have sturdy edges, the WinkBed’s perimeter is exceptionally strong because of enhanced support along the edges. Thanks to this extra reinforcement, our testers noticed minimal compression when sitting along the edge. Most sleepers should feel secure enough to sleep or sit on the full surface of the mattress without worrying about rolling off.

The edge of the Softer model may not seem quite as sturdy as the Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus versions, due to its plusher design. However, it is still likely to feel supportive enough for most individuals.

Ease of Movement

7/10

Firmer WinkBed: 8 / 10

Luxury Firm WinkBed: 7 / 10

WinkBed Plus: 10 / 10

Softer WinkBed: 6.5 / 10

My least favorite thing about memory foam mattresses is that I feel like I get stuck in them. I am a combination sleeper and am constantly flipping around in my sleep. The WinkBed is a hybrid, so it’s a lot easier to make those movements throughout the night without completely waking up. — Logan

The three softest versions of the WinkBed Mattress feature polyfoam comfort layers. Polyfoam is more responsive than memory foam, so the WinkBed won’t hug your body as closely as hybrid mattresses made with close-conforming memory foam. The result is strong ease of movement across the surface.

The Softer option has an extra layer of polyfoam and more cushioning, so you’ll feel some resistance when you try to move around the surface. On the other end of the spectrum, the Plus model features a very responsive latex layer, so this option shines when it comes to ease of movement.

Off-Gassing

7/10

Off-gassing odor is pretty strong at first. These smells dissipate after a couple days, but people with sensitive noses may have a hard time sleeping on their WinkBed when it’s fresh out of the box. I recommend airing out the mattress for one to two nights before sleeping on it. — Brad

All models of the WinkBed Mattress contain synthetic foam and ship compressed in a box, so you may notice an initial off-gassing odor as the mattress expands. This smell typically dissipates within a few hours to several days. The coil layer in the Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer versions promote a lot of airflow, which can help dissipate odors more quickly.

WinkBed Mattress Coupon

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

Get $300 off all mattresses at Winkbeds

WinkBed Mattress Review Breakdown

The WinkBed is a hybrid model with four firmness options, including medium soft (4), medium firm (6), firm (7), and firm (8). The construction and materials vary between these firmness options.

Each WinkBed Mattress uses a Tencel cover. This natural fabric is derived from eucalyptus and is crafted to sleep cool by wicking away excessive heat.

The Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer versions of the mattress have a quilted Euro-top with gel-infused polyfoam followed by another polyfoam layer. This material contours to the sleeper’s body to relieve pressure points, and the gel infusion pulls heat away. The Softer version has an extra polyfoam layer in the Euro-top to enhance cushioning.

The Plus option has a unique comfort system with a layer of dense polyfoam and a 2.5-inch layer of latex. The density of the polyfoam makes it more durable and less likely to form lasting impressions. The latex layer provides a responsive feel and enables excellent airflow.

Each model has a pocketed coil system with a zoned design to provide targeted support and proper spinal alignment. The pocketing of the coils reduces motion transfer. The Plus option bands these pocketed coils together in groups of four for extra support.

All of the firmness options measure 13.5 inches thick, making the WinkBed a high-profile model. Because it is thicker than average, the bed may require extra deep fitted sheets.

Firmness

Medium Soft – 4
Medium Firm – 6
Firm – 7
Firm – 8 (PLUS)

Mattress Type

Hybrid

Construction

The WinkBed’s materials vary slightly between firmness options. The Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer options use polyfoam and pocketed coils. The PLUS version uses polyfoam, latex, and pocketed coils.

Cover Material:

Tencel

Comfort Layer:

Softer:
Polyfoam (Gel-Infused, Quilted in Three Layers within a Euro-Style Pillow Top)
2″ Transition Polyfoam
Luxury Firm Polyfoam (Gel-Infused, Quilted in Two Layers within a Euro-Style Pillow Top)
Transition Polyfoam
Firmer
Polyfoam (Gel-Infused, Quilted in Two Layers within a Euro-Style Pillow Top)
Transition Polyfoam
PLUS

Polyfoam, 1.8 PCF 2.5″ Latex (7 Zones)

Support Core:

Softer:
Pocketed Coils (5 Zones)
Luxury Firm:
Pocketed Coils (5 Zones)
Firmer:
Pocketed Coils (7 Zones)
PLUS:
Pocketed Coils (3 Zones)

Mattress Prices and Sizing

The WinkBed’s price-point is on par with the average luxury hybrid model. The mattress is available in all six standard mattress sizes. While the Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer versions of the mattress are priced the same, the PLUS option costs extra.

Sizes Dimensions Height Weight Price
Twin 38″ x 75″ 13.5″ 75 lbs. $1,149
Twin XL 38″ x 80″ 13.5″ 85 lbs. $1,249
Full 54″ x 75″ 13.5″ 120 lbs. $1,499
Queen 60″ x 80″ 13.5″ 135 lbs. $1,799
King 76″ x 80″ 13.5″ 145 lbs. $1,999
California King 72″ x 84″ 13.5″ 145 lbs. $2,049

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

Get $300 off all mattresses at Winkbeds

Trial, Warranty, and Shipping Policies

Availability

The WinkBed Mattress ships within the United States. It is available through the WinkBeds website.

You can also try the WinkBed Mattress at six brick-and-mortar locations, including the SleePare Showrooms in New York City, Tysons Corner, VA, and Miami, FL; the Sleep Sherpa Showrooms in Edina, MN; the Sandman Sleep store in Chicago, IL; and the Our Sleep Guide Showrooms in Austin and Houston, TX.

Shipping

WinkBeds provides free ground shipping in the contiguous U.S. The mattress ships via UPS and arrives compressed as a bed in a box designed for maneuverability. Purchasers are responsible for moving the mattress to their room of choice, unpackaging it, and setting it up.

Mattresses are assembled once an order is placed. Shipping usually takes about two weeks, though the precise arrival date may vary based partially on where you are located.

Sleep Trial

A 120-night sleep trial allows buyers to try the mattress in their homes. The purchaser must try the bed for at least 30 nights before they can return it for a full refund.

Buyers can also exchange their mattress if they discover it isn’t their ideal firmness. Customers who exchange their mattresses will receive a 60-night trial period for their replacement mattress.

This offer is limited to one trial period per customer and shipping address.

Warranty

The WinkBed Mattress comes with a lifetime limited warranty. This warranty is valid for the original mattress owner who purchased their WinkBed from an authorized retailer. The owner should retain a copy of the receipt as proof of purchase.

This warranty covers defects, including indentations greater than 1.5 inches, defects in the assembly of the cover, and flaws that cause degradation, splitting, or cracking of the foam. The warranty does not cover damage that results from abuse or neglect, and the mattress must be used on a proper foundation. Eligible defects will be remedied with a mattress replacement at no cost to the customer.

Customers are responsible for the shipping costs associated with returning the mattress to WinkBeds. If WinkBeds confirms a qualifying defect, it will cover the transportation costs.

Additional terms and conditions apply.

Still have questions?

Our product experts have extensive experience testing just about every sleep product on the market. Send an email to [email protected] or call us at (877) 672-8966 with your questions and we’ll help you find exactly what you’re looking for.

Learn more about our Editorial Team