When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Products or services may be offered by an affiliated entity. Learn more.

SF_BrooklynBeddingAuroraLuxe_1
Overall Rating 8.8

Save 25% sitewide at Brooklyn Bedding


Price Range: $749 – $1,699

Mattress Type: Hybrid

Firmness Options: Medium Soft (4), Medium Firm (6), Firm (7)

Ratings Summary

ratings/sf-mattress-motion-isolation Icon Motion Isolation

8/10

ratings/sf-mattress-edge-support Icon Edge Support

9/10

ratings/sf-mattress-temperature-control Icon Temperature Control

7.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-ease-of-movement Icon Ease of Movement

7/10

ratings/sf-mattress-off-gassing Icon Off Gassing

7.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-pressure-relief Icon Pressure Relief

6.5/10

Pros & Cons:

  • sf-check Icon
    Offers an even mix of contouring and responsiveness
  • sf-check Icon
    Sleeps cool, making it a good match for for hot sleepers
  • sf-check Icon
    Three firmness options
  • sf-close Icon
    Strong off-gassing odor for the first few nights
  • sf-close Icon
    Customers must pay $99 fee for mattress returns

Brooklyn Bedding is an online mattress brand that launched in 2009. Since opening up shop, the company has introduced a lineup of mattress models including the Aurora Luxe, Signature, Spartan, Essential, and Sedona. We’ll take an in-depth look at the Aurora Luxe, previously known as the Aurora Hybrid.

The Aurora Luxe is a high-profile bed measuring 13.25 inches thick. The mattress is a hybrid model featuring foam layers on top and a sturdy coil system in the core. The cover is woven with cooling fibers engineered to minimize heat retention. You can choose from three firmness levels: medium soft (4), medium firm (6), and firm (7). Your ideal firmness will depend on a few factors, such as your body weight, normal sleep position, and preferred conforming level.

To help you decide if the Aurora Luxe is the right fit, we’ll discuss the bed’s materials and construction, how much it costs, and how well it performs in different sleep categories.

Choose Medium Soft if:Choose Medium Firm if:Choose Firm if:
You want a mattress that conforms very closely to your body. While the pocketed coils offer support, you’ll feel deep cushioning on this model. Certain types of sleepers tend to prefer softer beds, including side sleepers and people who weigh less than 130 pounds.You want a mattress that conforms to your body but also provides sturdy support. Many side and back sleepers up to 230 pounds benefit from this even balance of plushness and support.You prefer minimal conforming and a more supportive overall feel. This firmness level prevents you from sinking and creates the sensation of floating on top of the mattress, rather than nestling deep. A firm feel is typically best for people who weigh more than 230 pounds.

Let us help you find the perfect bed

Answer a few questions to find the right mattress for your unique needs

Please select all options

Testing Team Takeaways

To test the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe, we had three people on our testing team each take the bed home with them for one week. Here are their initial observations.

Jeremy Klein

Jeremy Klein

Senior Product Testing Manager

Side sleeper

160 pounds

Nightly melatonin user

I’ve slept on the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora for over five years now, and continue to be pleased. The bed’s surface is deceptively plush, but the soft top layer gives way to a more supportive layer below. I love this as a side sleeper because it makes for a luxe, soft feel while having the support to keep my spine aligned.

Brad-684x684

Brad Nehring

Senior Product Analyst

Side and back sleeper

215 pounds

Always sleeps under a weighted blanket

As a hot sleeper, I love how cool and breathable the Aurora Luxe feels. I’ve found a lot of foam hybrids uncomfortable because they retain heat. With this mattress, I never felt overly warm — the cooling cover and gel infusions work exactly as intended.

Logan Foley

Logan Foley

Editorial Director

Side sleeper

140 pounds

Has too many dogs in the bed

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora is one of my top picks when someone asks me for a mattress recommendation. It’s a real crowd pleaser and most people generally enjoy sleeping on it, including me. The hybrid mattress offers the bounce and responsiveness of coils with the plush support of memory foam. It’s a great mattress that will keep your neck and spine aligned.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Video Review

Watch the video below to see how the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe performed when put to the test in our lab.

Sleeping Style and Body Weight

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe – Soft

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

9.5/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8/10

130-230 lbs

7/10

Above 230 lbs

6/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7/10

130-230 lbs

6/10

Above 230 lbs

5/10

The medium soft Aurora Luxe conforms quite closely. This deep cushioning is best suited to side sleepers up to 230 pounds and back sleepers under 130 pounds. The foam cradles the shoulders, hips, and spine to alleviate pressure points, while the coils are sufficiently supportive for sleepers in these weight categories. Side sleepers over 230 pounds and back sleepers over 130 pounds will sink too deeply into the bed, losing crucial support in the lower back. Stomach sleepers need strong support and probably won’t find it in this model, although those who weigh less than 130 pounds may receive enough support to feel comfortable.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe – Medium

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8/10

130-230 lbs

9.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

9/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

7.5/10

Above 230 lbs

6/10

Back and side sleepers across most weight ranges, but especially those who fall between 130 and 230 pounds, will find the medium firm Aurora Luxe comfortable. The bed’s adaptive polyfoam comfort layers contour extensively to cushion the shoulders, hips, and spine, while remaining supportive enough to keep the torso from sinking too deep. This all helps maintain healthy sleep posture.

Back sleepers who weigh 230 pounds or more may find the medium firm Aurora Luxe a bit too soft, which means more sinkage and less support beneath their heavier areas. Similarly, many stomach sleepers would benefit from a firmer model. That said, stomach sleepers between 130 and 230 pounds may receive a just-right balance of cushioning and support to feel comfortable.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe – Firm

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

5/10

130-230 lbs

5/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

5/10

130-230 lbs

6.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

5/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

The firm Aurora Luxe is an excellent option for back and side sleepers who weigh more than 230 pounds, as well as stomach sleepers over 130 pounds. While other Aurora Luxe models will feel too soft for these individuals, the firm model provides strong reinforcement for the body to prevent loss of support and uncomfortable sinkage. The surface also has a gently conforming feel, so these sleepers should receive enough cushioning for even spinal alignment and targeted pressure relief.

Side and back sleepers who weigh 130 to 230 pounds may find the firm feel comfortable, though they won’t feel as much padding as with a softer model. The firm feel may be well suited to stomach sleepers weighing less than 130 pounds, but keep in mind the firmness could lead to pressure buildup in the stomach and lower back.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Coupon

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

Save 25% sitewide at Brooklyn Bedding

Mattress Performance

In addition to the hands-on feedback from our team, we conduct a number of quantitative tests in our Test Lab. The below ratings are based on the experience of our testers.

Motion Isolation

8/10

Soft: 8.5 / 10

Medium: 8.5 / 10

Firm: 7 / 10

I share a bed with my husband and I move a lot in my sleep. I switch from one side to the other constantly, so motion isolation is super important for me. No mattress is going to be perfect at this, but the Aurora does a great job, especially for a mattress that’s not completely memory foam. I would personally go with the soft feel if you’re particularly concerned about this, the firm options were a little too bouncy for me. — Logan

Our team uses a variety of tests and tools to measure how well a bed absorbs motion, including a sensor that measures small movements on the surface. We also collect subjective assessments of movement felt by testers lying on the bed at the same time. We found the Aurora Luxe provides above-average motion isolation. Although the coil system gives the mattress a somewhat bouncy feel, the bed absorbs movement from sleepers and eliminates most motion transfer across the surface.

The medium soft and medium firm Aurora Luxe models isolate motion especially well. The firm model feels a bit springier on the surface, resulting in slightly more transfer, but overall the mattress earns favorable ratings in this category regardless of firmness level. People who find their partner’s movements particularly disruptive should opt for one of the softer feels.

Pressure Relief

6.5/10

Pressure relief is where the Aurora excels most. “Sleeping on a cloud” is a common marketing phrase in the mattress world. Well, if that’s what you’re looking for, this is it. The thick foam comfort layer of the Aurora conforms closely to your body, making it great for people with pain issues, as well as side sleepers in general. Just make sure you get the right firmness level for your sleeping position and body weight. — Jeremy

To assess pressure relief, we rely on data from pressure-mapping tools as well as subjective feedback from testers who’ve lain on the bed. We noticed that pressure relief is one category where the Aurora Luxe excels no matter which firmness level you select. The important consideration here is finding the feel that will reduce pressure for your specific body type and preferences.

If you sleep on your side and/or weigh 230 pounds or less, then the medium soft feel will probably alleviate the most pressure thanks to its close conforming. If you sleep on your back or stomach and/or weigh 130 pounds or more, then you should consider the medium firm or firm feel. These models offer just the right amount of pressure relief without excessive sagging.

Temperature Control

7.5/10

Soft: 7 / 10

Medium: 8.5 / 10

Firm: 8.5 / 10

It should come as no surprise that the Aurora Luxe excels at temperature control — the mattress is loaded to to bottom with cooling features. I did notice that the firm model doesn’t sink as much as the other two, so this is your best bet if you’re looking for maximum thermoregulation. — Brad

We ran temperature tests on the Aurora Luxe using thermal cameras, and we collected subjective feedback from testers who sleep hot. We found the mattress sleeps fairly cool, due in large part to steady airflow through the coil system. In addition, the cover of the Aurora Luxe has cooling fibers intended to prevent heat buildup.

Note the medium soft Aurora Luxe may trap more heat than the other two firmness levels, since deeper cushioning can result in restricted airflow. If you’re an exceptionally hot sleeper, we recommend a medium firm or firm model.

Edge Support

9/10

Soft: 7 / 10

Medium: 7 / 10

Firm: 8.5 / 10

All three Aurora Luxe mattresses have reinforced perimeter coils, but you’ll probably notice more sinkage on the medium soft and medium firm models. The firm design feels remarkably sturdy in comparison. — Brad

Our testers sat on the edge of the Aurora Luxe and measured how deeply the bed compressed. With pocketed coils and perimeter reinforcement, the Aurora Luxe’s support system was quite robust. You won’t sink too much when getting in and out of bed, as you might on an all-foam mattress. Most people feel fairly secure sleeping near the edges without feelings of roll-off.

That said, the medium soft Aurora Luxe is a bit weaker along the perimeter than the other two firmness levels. This is especially true for sleepers who weigh more than 130 pounds, since they’ll notice more sinkage when sitting or lying along the edges.

Ease of Movement

7/10

Soft: 7 / 10

Medium: 8.5 / 10

Firm: 8.5 / 10

When I first got the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora, I was a little surprised by how much I sank into the bed. If you’re like I was and are used to a more traditional innerspring, the relatively low ease-of-movement might be surprising at first. I quickly got used to it and don’t even notice now, but I did have a partner once who felt like I was creating a black hole in the bed that she kept falling into. — Jeremy

Some mattresses sink a great deal beneath your body, making them difficult to move around on. We found the Aurora Luxe’s medium firm and firm models are responsive enough to promote strong ease of movement. We tested the beds by rolling around on the surface. We also dropped kettlebells on the bed to measure how quickly the surface regains its shape.

That said, your experience will depend on your body weight and chosen firmness level. The firm Aurora Luxe sinks the least and offers the best ease of movement, but you may have a harder time moving across the medium soft model because it sinks more. This is especially true for people who weigh more than 230 pounds.

Off-Gassing

7.5/10

I’m pretty sensitive to smells, and the Aurora has a definitive off-gassing odor when you first open it up. This is pretty common for memory foam mattresses. Luckily, this dissipates after a few days and I didn’t notice it much after that. — Logan

Off-gassing is a common issue for mattresses with polyfoam and memory foam layers. The Aurora Luxe produces a fair amount of off-gassing odor after you remove the mattress from its shipping box. These smells may persist for a few days, but they will eventually dissipate. The bed’s coil system helps to clear out unpleasant odors by promoting airflow through the interior. You can also air out the mattress in a well-ventilated room for a day or two before sleeping on it.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Review Breakdown

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is a 13.25-inch hybrid mattress that combines cushioning foam layers on top with supportive coils on the bottom. The mattress comes in three firmness options — medium soft (4), medium firm (6), and firm (7). The first comfort layer is made from an adaptive polyfoam that molds to the body like memory foam but also has a bit of bounce. The foam is infused with copper meant to help keep the surface cool. 

Beneath is another polyfoam layer, which conforms to the body while still feeling responsive. The firmness of this layer varies depending on the model you choose. Next is a transitional layer of gel memory foam with a responsive feel to ensure you won’t sink too deep into the mattress.

The Aurora Luxe has a pocketed coil support core measuring 8 inches thick. This layer stabilizes the mattress to keep your body on an even plane and prevent the edges from sinking too much when you get in and out of bed. The coils are divided into three zones to ensure adequate support for your torso and hips, and a gentler feel for lighter areas of your body that require less reinforcement. Thicker coils also line the perimeter to minimize sinkage when you get in and out of bed.

Another notable component is the GlacioTex Cooling Cover, which is woven with cooling fibers. You can also pay extra for a Cloud Pillow-Top, which adds 2 extra inches of cushioning foam infused with phase change material (PCM). PCM is designed to absorb heat from your body until you reach a certain temperature and then release heat after your body cools.

Firmness

Medium Soft – 4
Medium Firm – 6
Firm – 7

Mattress Type

Hybrid

Construction

The Aurora Luxe is a polyfoam hybrid constructed with adaptive polyfoam comfort layers and a pocketed coil support core. The bed’s individual layer materials and measurements are listed below.

Cover Material:

Fabric woven with TitanCool PCM

Comfort Layer:

1.5″ Energex polyfoam infused with copper and PCM (12 ILD)
2″ TitanFlex polyfoam (10-36 ILD)
1″ gel-infused transitional memory foam

Support Core:

8″ pocketed coils (3-zone with reinforced perimeter)
.75″ High-density base polyfoam

Mattress Prices and Sizing

The Aurora Luxe has a price-point that is on par with the average hybrid. The bed is available in all standard sizes as well as a few specialty sizes. Among all Brooklyn Bedding models, the Aurora Luxe is one of the more expensive mattresses.

It’s important to note that the Aurora Luxe costs the same in each size regardless of which firmness level you’ve selected. Shipping is free if you reside in the contiguous U.S. If you live in Alaska or Hawaii, you’ll pay a flat delivery fee of $125. For Canadians, this flat charge is $250.

Sizes Dimensions Height Weight Price
Twin 39″ x 75″ 13.25″ 60 lbs. $749
Twin XL 39″x 80″ 13.25″ 65 lbs. $924
Full 54″ x 75″ 13.25″ 85 lbs. $1,199
Queen 60″ x 80″ 13.25″ 105 lbs. $1,399
King 76″ x 80″ 13.25″ 130 lbs. $1,699
California King 72″ x 84″ 13.25″ 130 lbs. $1,699

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

Save 25% sitewide at Brooklyn Bedding

Trial, Warranty, and Shipping Policies

Availability

The Aurora Luxe is sold on the Brooklyn Bedding website and Amazon.com, but it is not available through any other online retailers or marketplaces. Additionally, Brooklyn Bedding owns and operates brick-and-mortar showrooms around the U.S. You may use the location finder on the brand’s website to find the closest showroom. You may also be able to purchase the Aurora Luxe through one of the company’s brick-and-mortar partner retailers.

Brooklyn Bedding ships anywhere in the U.S. and Canada, but only customers in the contiguous U.S. qualify for free ground shipping.

Shipping

If you reside in the contiguous U.S., ground shipping will be free of charge. Expect to pay $125 for delivery if you live in Alaska or Hawaii, and $250 if you live in Canada. Regardless of where you live, mattresses typically ship within five to seven business days of placing your original order. Brooklyn Bedding does not offer expedited shipping or White Glove delivery.

As a mattress-in-a-box model, the Aurora Luxe is compressed, wrapped in plastic, and vacuum-sealed for shipping. This process — also known as “roll-packing” — ensures the mattress will fit inside a standard ground shipping box. The mattress will be delivered to your doorstep.

To unpack the Aurora Luxe, first carry the box to the room where you plan to use the mattress. Open the box and remove the plastic wrapping with a knife, and then the mattress will begin to expand. Give your Aurora Luxe up to 48 hours to reach its full shape.

Sleep Trial

Brooklyn Bedding offers a 120-night sleep trial for the Aurora Luxe and all other mattresses. This trial includes a mandatory break-in period of 30 nights. You won’t be able to return your mattress for a full refund or exchange it for another model until after you’ve tested out the Aurora Luxe for at least 30 nights. All mattress returns incur a $99 fee.

Warranty

The Aurora Luxe is backed by a 10-year warranty. This warranty is entirely non-prorated, meaning Brooklyn Bedding will cover all costs related to repairing or replacing a mattress that develops defects while the warranty is valid.

Defects recognized in the warranty include surface-level body impressions that measure more than 1.5 inches and physical flaws in the mattress that cause its components to split, crack, or wear out prematurely. Brooklyn Bedding may void the warranty if you leave the mattress inside its shipping box for 60 days or longer and damage occurs as a result.

Still have questions?

Our product experts have extensive experience testing just about every sleep product on the market. Send an email to [email protected] or call us at (877) 672-8966 with your questions and we'll help you find exactly what you're looking for.

Learn more about our Editorial Team