When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Products or services may be offered by an affiliated entity. Learn more.

Nolah Evolution 15
Overall Rating 8.8

35% off mattresses + 2 free pillows at Nolah


Price Range: $1,004 – $2,143

Mattress Type: Hybrid

Firmness Options: Medium (5), Medium Firm (6), Firm (8)

Ratings Summary

ratings/sf-mattress-motion-isolation Icon Motion Isolation

8/10

ratings/sf-mattress-edge-support Icon Edge Support

9/10

ratings/sf-mattress-temperature-control Icon Temperature Control

7.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-ease-of-movement Icon Ease of Movement

7/10

ratings/sf-mattress-off-gassing Icon Off Gassing

7.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-pressure-relief Icon Pressure Relief

6.5/10

Pros & Cons:

  • sf-check Icon
    Zoned coils and zoned AirFoam provide extra midsection support
  • sf-check Icon
    Open-cell foam and breathable exterior material resist heat retention
  • sf-check Icon
    Available in three firmness levels
  • sf-close Icon
    Thick profile may require a fitted sheet with deep pockets
  • sf-close Icon
    $99 fee for all returns
  • sf-close Icon
    Foam layers may emit strong initial odor

Nolah is a Texas-based company that uses proprietary foam to give its mattresses a distinct feel and performance. Along with multiple mattress models, the company offers bases, bedding, pillows, and mattress protectors.

One of the company’s most popular mattresses, the Nolah Evolution Hybrid is the tallest in their product line. Also called the Nolah Evolution 15, it has a height of 15 inches and features thick and dependable coils and four foam layers designed to maximize spinal support and comfort. It is available in three firmness levels.

Below, we’ll break down the most important features of the Nolah Evolution Hybrid. We’ll explain its construction, discuss its pricing and sizing, analyze its performance, and summarize key company policies to help you decide whether this mattress is right for you.

Testing Team Takeaways

To test the Nolah Evolution 15 Mattress, we had three people on our testing team each take the bed home with them for one week. Here are their initial observations.

Mary Fenton

Mary Fenton

Head of Product Content

combination sleeper

150 pounds

sleeps with white noise

I love the feel of the tufted pillow top on the Nolah. Coupled with the fact that it’s a really tall mattress, it definitely gives the bed a luxurious vibe. It feels soft without being too soft, but that said, it’s still a little soft for my liking. It’s almost like there’s too much pillow top for how firm it feels underneath (more so on the edges than in the middle) but overall it does have a good balance of cushion and support.

Logan Foley

Logan Foley

Editorial Director

side and back sleeper

130 pounds

sleeps with too many dogs in bed

The Nolah Evolution 15 is a mattress that, as a side and back sleeper, I absolutely love! My hips and shoulders were cushioned perfectly in both of my favored sleeping positions and yet I was able to move around with ease. In the stomach sleeping position I found that my hips sunk too much for my comfort, but that’s not a position that I typically sleep in, and body type definitely factors into the sleep experience.

Jeremy Klein

Jeremy Klein

Senior Product Testing Manager

side sleeper

160 pounds

nightly melatonin user

The Nolah Evolution 15 has a plush foam top that conforms exceptionally to my shoulders and hips, but it’s balanced really well with the coil core so I still feel supported and not like I’m being consumed by the mattress. I like this bed better for side sleeping than back sleeping. It’s probably the zoned coil system, but my midsection feels almost too supported to the point where my spine begins to arch. Heavier back sleepers may prefer that pushback though.

Nolah Video Review

Watch the video below to see how the Nolah Evolution 15 performed when put to the test in our lab.

Sleeping Style and Body Weight

Nolah Evolution 15 – Plush

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8.5/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

7/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

6/10

Above 230 lbs

6/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

5.5/10

Above 230 lbs

5/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Luxury Firm

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

7.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

6/10

Above 230 lbs

5.5/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Firm

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

5.5/10

130-230 lbs

6/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8.5/10

Side Sleepers

Most side sleepers experience significant comfort and support on the Nolah Evolution Hybrid. The foam offers notable cushioning, and layers with a zoned design give added support to the areas where side sleepers need it most, like the hips and shoulders.

Our tests found that the plush (5) and luxury firm (6) models were well-suited to most side sleepers. The plush (5) performs best for people under 130 pounds, and the luxury firm (6) is best for those between 130 and 230 pounds. The firm (8) model feels too hard for many people in this position but can be workable for side sleepers over 230 pounds.

Back Sleepers

Our testing team got solid results from the Nolah Evolution when sleeping on their back. Targeted support bolsters the lumbar spine, which is a problem area for back sleepers. The strong coils and resilient foam resist excess sinkage and allow back sleepers to maintain a healthier spinal posture.

For most back sleepers, the luxury firm (6) and firm (8) models offered more comfort and support in our testing. The plush (5) firmness level can be a bit too soft for back sleepers, especially those over 230 pounds who sink more deeply into the comfort layers.

Stomach Sleepers

The firm (8) model of the Nolah Evolution Hybrid is a good match for most stomach sleepers, who tend to prefer a mattress with more pushback and less contouring. The harder surface and zoned materials in the Nolah Evolution Hybrid prevent the midsection from sagging into the bed, avoiding a major issue that faces many stomach sleepers. 

The firm (8) option works well for stomach sleepers of any weight, but it can be especially well-suited to people over 130 pounds. Most stomach sleepers will find the plush (5) and luxury firm (6) models lack firmness to properly support their sleep posture.

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Coupon

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

35% off mattresses + 2 free pillows at Nolah

Performance Ratings

In addition to the hands-on feedback from our team, we conduct a number of quantitative tests in our Test Lab. The below ratings are based on the experience of our testers.

Motion Isolation

8/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Firm: 6 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Luxury Firm: 6.5 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Plush: 7 / 10

Hybrids are already susceptible to motion transfer, and I did notice some on this bed when I or my partner shifted in our sleep. However, the plush foam in the Euro-top helps to absorb a lot of that movement. Plus, I’m a pretty heavy sleeper so that helps. – Logan

Thanks to its thick polyfoam layers, the Nolah Evolution 15 Hybrid absorbs enough movement to prevent most sleep disruptions. However, there is still some motion transfer because of the bounciness of the coils. 

You can expect the most motion transfer on the firm (8) model and the least on the plush (5) option. Across the board, though, our testers noticed only light motion transfer across all three firmness levels.

Pressure Relief

6.5/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Firm: 6.5 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Luxury Firm: 7 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Plush: 7 / 10

The combination of zoned coils and multiple polyfoam layers, including zoned AirFoam, enable the Nolah Evolution Hybrid to cushion pain points and provide above-average pressure relief. 

Choosing the right firmness option can optimize pressure relief. While individual preferences vary, a plush (5) or luxury firm (6) model works best for most side sleepers under 230 pounds, while the luxury firm (6) or firm (8) are better suited to the majority of back and stomach sleepers.

Temperature Control

7.5/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Firm: 8 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Luxury Firm: 7.5 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Plush: 7 / 10

Like many hybrids, the Nolah Evolution 15 offers significant temperature regulation. Conductive fibers in the cover are engineered to draw heat away from the body, and aerated polyfoam and a breathable exterior both reduce heat retention. The tall coil layer enables even more ventilation.

In our testing, all three models prevented bothersome overheating. That said, compared to the firm (8) model, the plush (5) and luxury firm (6) permit more sink and allow slightly less cooling airflow around the skin.

Edge Support

9/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Firm: 8.5 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Luxury Firm: 7.5 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Plush: 7 / 10

The Nolah Evolution 15 excels at edge support. I felt cushioned and comfortable, like there was no risk of the edge losing firmness. – Jeremy

The sturdy 8-inch coils gives the Nolah Evolution Hybrid a reliable level of edge support. While there can be some sink from the foam layers, resilient polyfoam prevents instability around the perimeter of the bed.

Edge support does vary based on the firmness level. Our team noticed a reduction in edge support between the firm (8) and the luxury firm (6) and plush (5) models. Even on the softer models, though, you get solid edge support from this mattress.

Ease of Movement

7/10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Firm: 8 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Luxury Firm: 7.5 / 10

Nolah Evolution 15 – Plush: 7 / 10

I toss and turn a bit while sleeping and tend to switch from back sleeper to side sleeper throughout the night. The polyfoam layers of the Nolah Evolution 15 greatly assisted my ability to change position with minimal effort. – Jeremy

All of our testers were pleasantly surprised by the ease of movement on the Nolah Evolution 15. The foam layers don’t cause excess sink or hug, and the bounce of the coils facilitates movement on the mattress surface. This makes this mattress a solid fit for combination sleepers or anyone who hates feeling stuck in place when lying in bed. 

With its softer surface, the plush (5) model restricts movement a bit more than the other models. In our testing, the firm (8) option provided standout ease of movement to all of our sleepers. 

Off-Gassing

7.5/10

There’s a lot of foam in the surface of this mattress, which does release some of that chemical smell after unboxing. But I think the coils in the core do a good job of circulating that odor out after some time.

– Logan

While it shouldn’t maintain lasting odors, the Nolah Evolution Hybrid typically gives off a new mattress smell when unboxed. This occurs when tiny compounds from the foam manufacturing process are released from the mattress’ sealed plastic packaging. 

Because all three firmness options have the same amount of foam, they cause the same amount of off-gassing. This light smell should go away within a few days and doesn’t pose any risk to your health.

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review Breakdown

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress combines foam and coils to create a strong all-around performance. A Euro-top cover cushions the surface of the bed and includes 2 inches of polyfoam quilted inside it. 

Breathable cotton and ArcticTex fibers in the cover are engineered to help you maintain a more consistent temperature. A breathable gusset wraps around the side of the mattress to let more heat escape without reaching your body. 

Beneath the Euro-top are three more layers of foam, including 2 inches of zoned AirFoam, 2 inches of resilient polyfoam, and 1 inch of denser transition polyfoam.  The combination of materials is designed to offer moderate contouring for pressure relief, especially in hot spots like the shoulders, low back, and hips. 

The foam layers rest on an 8-inch core of pocketed coils that are zoned for targeted support. These coils provide notable edge support along with sturdiness and light bounce. A thin fiber pad made of recycled materials sits below the coils to absorb noise and vibrations.

Firmness

Plush (5)
Luxury Firm (6)
Firm (8)

Mattress Type

Hybrid

Construction

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress has five main layers. A quilted Euro-top cover contains 2 inches of polyfoam. Below that is a 2-inch layer of the company’s zoned AirFoam, a 2-inch layer of resilient polyfoam, and a 1-inch polyfoam transition layer. The support core is an 8-inch layer of zoned pocketed coils that rests on a fiber pad made of recycled materials.

Cover Material:

Quilted cotton and ArcticTex fabric

Comfort Layer:

2″ polyfoam quilted into Euro-top
2″ zoned AirFoam polyfoam
2″ polyfoam
1” transition polyfoam

Support Core:

8″ zoned pocketed coils
Recycled plant-based fiber pad

Mattress Prices and Sizing

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress falls just above the average price of most hybrid models. While it might cost more up front, the investment may be justified by the mattress’ advanced design and reliability. Frequent promotions often bring the cost down, so you may be able to get the Nolah Evolution Hybrid at a good price for the value. 

Sizes Dimensions Height Weight Price
Twin 38″ x 75″ 15″ N/A $1,004
Twin XL 38″ x 80″ 15″ N/A $1,071
Full 54″ x 75″ 15″ N/A $1,540
Queen 60″ x 80″ 15″ N/A $1,674
King 76″ x 80″ 15″ N/A $1,809
California King 72″ x 84″ 15″ N/A $1,808
Split King 38″ x 80″ 15″ N/A $2,143

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

35% off mattresses + 2 free pillows at Nolah

Trial, Warranty, and Shipping Policies

Availability

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress is sold through the Nolah website and is only available within the 48 contiguous United States. It is also offered in a select number of showrooms across the country.

Shipping

Ground shipping is free, and most mattresses arrive in 5 to 10 business days after you place an order.

Each mattress is compressed, wrapped in plastic, and packed in a box for shipping. The box will be delivered to your doorstep, and Nolah recommends having another person available to move the box into your bedroom. After that, you unbox the mattress, position it, and allow it to expand.

Additional Services

For an additional fee, Nolah will coordinate the setup of your new mattress and/or removal of your old mattress.

Sleep Trial

A 120-night trial is included with your purchase. You must keep the mattress for 30 nights as a break-in period. If you decide it isn’t right for you, you can return it for a refund. After you request a return, Nolah will pick up the mattress. The company deducts a $99 transportation fee from your refund. 

If you are not interested in testing the mattress, you can opt out of the sleep trial and receive a discounted purchase price.

Warranty

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress comes with a prorated lifetime limited warranty. 

During the first 2 years of coverage, Nolah will repair or replace a defective mattress at no cost. After that, warranty service will be assessed either transportation costs or a partial replacement charge to receive a new mattress.

The warranty does not cover normal wear and tear or damage from stains or spills. You can purchase an optional insurance policy through Nolah to cover accidental damage.

Still have questions?

Our product experts have extensive experience testing just about every sleep product on the market. Send an email to [email protected] or call us at (877) 672-8966 with your questions and we’ll help you find exactly what you’re looking for.

Learn more about our Editorial Team