When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Products or services may be offered by an affiliated entity. Learn more.

Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress Review
Overall Rating 8.8

Up to 25% off + 2 free pillows with mattress purchase


Price Range: $1,449 – $2,399

Mattress Type: Hybrid

Firmness Options: Medium Firm (6)

Ratings Summary

ratings/sf-mattress-motion-isolation Icon Motion Isolation

8/10

ratings/sf-mattress-edge-support Icon Edge Support

9/10

ratings/sf-mattress-temperature-control Icon Temperature Control

7.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-ease-of-movement Icon Ease of Movement

7/10

ratings/sf-mattress-off-gassing Icon Off Gassing

7.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-pressure-relief Icon Pressure Relief

6.5/10

Pros & Cons:

  • sf-check Icon
    Generous comfort system combines wool, memory foam, polyfoam, and natural Talalay latex
  • sf-check Icon
    Pressure-relieving design redistributes body weight to help reduce aches and pains
  • sf-check Icon
    Significant edge support from reinforced perimeter coils
  • sf-close Icon
    Stomach sleepers over 230 pounds might benefit from more support
  • sf-close Icon
    May not appeal to those seeking a fully natural mattress since it incorporates synthetic materials

Leesa launched in 2015 as one of the early initiators of the mattress-in-a-box movement. The company produces both all-foam and hybrid models ranging in firmness from medium soft (4) to firm (7), including the Leesa Original, the Leesa Studio Mattress, the Leesa Legend Mattress, and the Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress.

The Leesa Natural Hybrid is designed for sleepers seeking a more natural sleep surface. Created in partnership with West Elm, this medium firm (6) model incorporates Talalay latex, wool, organic cotton, and steel coils. However, it does contain synthetic memory foam and polyfoam.

We’ll break down the design of the Leesa Natural, outline the company’s policies, and describe how the mattress performed during our in-house testing.

Let us help you find the perfect bed

Answer a few questions to find the right mattress for your unique needs

Please select all options

Testing Team Takeaways

To test the Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress, we had three people on our testing team each take the bed home with them for one week. Here are their initial observations.

Brad-684x684

Brad Nehring

Senior Product Analyst

Side sleeper

215 pounds

Sleeps with a weighted blanket

One thing I like about the Leesa Natural is the addition of memory foam in the comfort system. Most latex hybrids don’t have any foam, and this can make their surfaces feel a bit stiff. With the Leesa Natural, you get some light cushioning on the surface without losing that soothing, mellow bounce from the latex.

Lauren Fountain

Lauren Fountain

Senior Product Editor

Side sleeper

115 pounds

Has been writing down dreams for a decade

As someone who tends to run hot, I really appreciate the breathability of the materials in the Leesa Natural Hybrid. The bed’s organic cotton cover, wool and ventilated latex comfort layers, and pocketed coil core combine to enhance airflow, ensuring that I stayed cool all night long.

Jackson Lindeke

Jackson Lindeke

Executive Product Director

Side sleeper

180 pounds

Showers before bed

The layering in the Leesa Natural Hybrid makes it almost in a class of its own. I found the wool and latex in the comfort system really reduced heat buildup, while the memory foam sandwiched in between had perfect cushioning for my usual pressure points. It’s an impressive and luxurious construction.

Sleeping Style and Body Weight

Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8/10

130-230 lbs

9.5/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

9/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

7.5/10

Above 230 lbs

6/10

Side Sleepers

The Leesa Natural Hybrid was most popular with the side sleepers on our testing team. They noted how the top memory foam comfort layer molded to their hips and shoulders to spread out pressure while the Talalay latex layer added deeper, more responsive contouring.

In our tests, the Leesa Natural excelled for side sleepers of all weights, but those between 130 and 230 pounds gave it the highest marks. The medium firm surface’s balance of cradling and support was nearly ideal for testers in this weight range.

Back Sleepers

Thanks to its supportive design, the Leesa Natural Hybrid performed well for the back sleepers on our team. The quilted cotton cover, top wool layer, and memory foam gently conformed to their bodies to promote alignment. Meanwhile, they appreciated how the Talalay latex and polyfoam layers limited sinkage. 

Though our back sleepers of all body types felt comfortable on the Leesa Natural, its balanced feel appealed most to testers between 130 and 230 pounds.

Stomach Sleepers

Because of its medium firm feel, the Leesa Natural Hybrid was a good match for our stomach sleepers who weigh between 130 and 230 pounds. Some testers over 230 pounds noted that they sank in more than ideal around their midsection, while those under 130 pounds said they prefer a bit more cushioning.

Mattress Performance

In addition to the hands-on feedback from our team, we conduct a number of quantitative tests in our Test Lab. The below ratings are based on the experience of our testers.

Motion Isolation

8/10

The memory foam in the Leesa Natural goes a long way toward giving it strong motion isolation. Latex beds tend to be bouncier, but you can sleep on the Leesa Natural with a partner and hardly feel each other. – Brad

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress isolates motion quite well. Its quilted cotton cover and wool layer dampen vibrations, while the memory foam comfort layer absorbs more significant movement.

Despite the Talalay latex layer’s buoyancy, it also doesn’t transfer much movement, and two polyfoam transition layers further isolate vibrations. Finally, the core uses individually pocketed coils so minimal motion spreads.

Our testers reported feeling little to no movement when a partner changed positions on the opposite side of the bed. While our motion sensors picked up minor vibrations when we dropped a kettlebell on one side of the bed, we expect most sleepers won’t notice this level of motion transfer.

Pressure Relief

6.5/10

The Leesa Natural’s latex and memory foam both relieve pressure in their own ways, so combined you can really feel them work together to form this supportive, cradling effect. – Jackson

The quilted cotton cover and wool layer gently cushion the surface, while the top memory foam layer molds closely to the sleeper’s curves to redistribute pressure so it doesn’t build up around one area.

The secondary Talalay latex layer extends the cradling while restricting sinkage. Two polyfoam layers help ensure the sleeper’s body doesn’t press directly against the coil core.

Our pressure mapping pad showed that most of our testers experienced relatively even pressure distribution with no notable pressure points.

Temperature Control

7.5/10

Memory foam can be tricky to use in beds, because it provides great comfort at the cost of heat retention. The Leesa Natural’s smart design and breathable materials work to counteract any heat buildup you get from the top memory foam layer. As a hot sleeper, I was able to sleep largely without issue on the Leesa Natural. – Lauren

The Leesa Natural Hybrid’s cotton cover allows airflow into the mattress, while its wool layer naturally regulates temperature and moisture. The Talalay latex is also highly breathable, as is the coil system.

We took surface temperature readings after a heat source was removed and detected only mild heat retention. Our team members who sleep hot also didn’t report feeling uncomfortably warm at any point during the testing process.

Edge Support

9/10

The edges on the Leesa Natural Hybrid are stronger than we usually see. I was able to lay basically on the edges of the mattress without issue, giving me plenty of room to spread out. – Jackson

While most hybrid mattresses have reasonable edge support, the Leesa Natural Hybrid truly excels in this category. Its comfort system is a generous 4.25 inches thick, and it’s supportive right up to the edges. The core also contains a reinforced perimeter, giving the sides of the bed a sturdy feel.

Our testers of all weights felt secure lying and sitting along the edges of the bed. Thanks to the stable perimeter, couples may feel that they have more usable room, and individuals with mobility issues may find it easier to get into and out of bed.

Ease of Movement

7/10

The Leesa Natural has a smooth, underlying bounce to it thanks to the coil core and latex under its memory foam. There’s a bit of give to the bed, but I was able to change positions and move around without too much effort. – Brad

With several responsive components, the Leesa Natural Hybrid is fairly easy to move on. While many mattresses with memory foam feel restrictive because of the material’s close conforming and slow response to changes in pressure, the Leesa Natural Hybrid balances it out with responsive Talalay latex and springy coils that facilitate movement.

When our testers tried to move across the surface and change positions, they didn’t feel like the bed significantly inhibited their movement. Sleepers who like the feel of memory foam but value ease of movement may appreciate this balanced design.

Off-Gassing

7.5/10

The Leesa Natural’s off-gassing was rather mild right out of the box. The bed’s breathable build helped it off-gass quickly, with hardly any odor remaining after we let it sit for a day. – Lauren

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress has a slight initial off-gassing odor, which we expect of nearly all models that ship compressed and contain synthetic foam.

While we noted an initial odor upon unpacking the Leesa Natural Hybrid, team members reported that it mostly dissipated within 24 hours. Leesa uses CertiPUR-US certified foam and OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certified latex, meaning these materials meet relevant third-party standards related to potentially harmful substances.

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress Coupon

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

Up to 25% off + 2 free pillows with mattress purchase

Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress Review Breakdown

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress is a medium firm (6) model with a 13-inch profile. It starts with a quilted cotton cover certified organic by the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS), which softens the surface without significantly restricting cooling air circulation. Underneath, a layer of wool helps wick away moisture and disperse heat to further neutralize the surface temperature. 

Next, a layer of memory foam conforms closely to the sleeper’s body to redistribute their weight and limit pressure buildup. Talalay latex balances out the hug of memory foam by adding responsive bounce, exceptional breathability, and limited sinkage. Meanwhile, two polyfoam layers soften the transition between the plusher comfort system and the firmer core. 

The support core consists of 8-inch pocketed coils that move independently of one another, limiting motion transfer while enhancing contouring. A reinforced perimeter allows sleepers to use more of the sleep surface. Finally, a polyfoam base stabilizes the mattress by giving the coils an even surface to compress against.

Firmness

Medium Firm – 6

Mattress Type

Hybrid

Construction

Cover Material:

Organic Cotton

Comfort Layer:

New Zealand Wool
.75″ Memory Foam
1.5″ Talalay Latex
2″ Transitional Polyfoam (two layers)

Support Core:

8″ Pocketed Coils
.75″ High-Density Polyfoam

Mattress Prices and Sizing

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress carries a higher price tag than the average mattress, but its cost is in line with other hybrid models that incorporate natural latex. The best latex mattresses and the best hybrid mattresses frequently cost more because of the expenses associated with materials and construction. However, these designs also frequently have a longer life expectancy.

Sizes Dimensions Height Weight Price
Twin 38″ x 75″ 13″ 65 lbs. $1,449
Twin XL 38″ x 80″ 13″ 70 lbs. $1,499
Full 53″ x 75″ 13″ 93 lbs. $1,799
Queen 60″ x 80″ 13″ 113 lbs. $2,099
King 76″ x 80″ 13″ 145 lbs. $2,399
California King 72″ x 84″ 13″ 144 lbs. $2,399

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

Up to 25% off + 2 free pillows with mattress purchase

Trial, Warranty, and Shipping Policies

Availability

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress is available through Leesa’s official website. Select third-party retailers also sell Leesa mattresses both online and in stores, but they have their own policies related to delivery, sleep trials, and returns.

Shipping

Orders placed directly through Leesa ship for free to all 50 U.S. states. Leesa typically produces the new mattress within three to seven business days and it should arrive around two to seven business days later.

Leesa mattresses ship via FedEx compressed and encased in a box. While it will begin to expand immediately after unboxing, it could take up to five hours to reach its full dimensions and several days to reach its intended firmness.

Additional Services

In select areas, Leesa offers White Glove delivery through a third-party partner, LoadUp. This $199 service includes new mattress setup and old mattress removal. Alternatively, customers can opt for just new mattress setup for $159.

Sleep Trial

Leesa Natural purchases include a 100-night sleep trial with a mandatory 30-night break-in period. Leesa either arranges to have the unwanted mattress picked up or asks the customer to donate it locally and provide a donation receipt. Customers in Alaska and Hawaii incur a $100 mattress return fee.

Warranty

The Leesa Natural Hybrid Mattress comes with a 10-year limited warranty. The policy pledges to repair or replace mattresses with qualifying defects, such as visible indentations deeper than 1.5 inches, permanent damage to the bed’s memory foam caused by physical flaws, and problems with the cover’s seams or zipper. 

The customer is responsible for shipping costs associated with warranty claims. Damage from abuse or improper use does not qualify for coverage.

Still have questions?

Our product experts have extensive experience testing just about every sleep product on the market. Send an email to [email protected] with your questions and we’ll help you find exactly what you’re looking for.

Learn more about our Editorial Team