When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Products or services may be offered by an affiliated entity. Learn more.

WinkBeds Blue Series 2
Overall Rating 9.5

Price: Varies


Mattress Type: Latex Hybrid

Firmness Options: Firm (7)

Ratings Summary

ratings/sf-mattress-motion-isolation Icon Motion Isolation

7/10

ratings/sf-mattress-edge-support Icon Edge Support

9/10

ratings/sf-mattress-temperature-control Icon Temperature Control

9.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-ease-of-movement Icon Ease of Movement

9.5/10

ratings/sf-mattress-off-gassing Icon Off Gassing

9/10

ratings/sf-mattress-pressure-relief Icon Pressure Relief

7.5/10

Pros & Cons:

  • sf-check Icon
    Best-in-class temperature control, edge support, and ease of movement
  • sf-check Icon
    Outstanding match for sleepers weighing 130 to 230 pounds
  • sf-check Icon
    Durable materials promise a long lifespan
  • sf-check Icon
    Reinforced perimeter adds stability around the edges
  • sf-close Icon
    Sensitive sleepers may experience disruptions from their partner’s movements
  • sf-close Icon
    Extra-high profile requires deep pocket fitted sheets
  • sf-close Icon
    Sold exclusively in physical stores

Founded in 2015, WinkBeds was one of the first online mattress companies to offer a hybrid mattress. This signature mattress, The WinkBed, was eventually followed by the EcoCloud latex hybrid and the memory foam GravityLux model. WinkBeds also sells a range of bedding and bed frames.

New in 2024, the WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress is a luxury hybrid measuring 17 inches thick. In contrast to the brand’s other mattresses, this series is only available for purchase in physical stores.

The mattress pairs a quilted cover with resilient Talalay latex and a robust 10-inch pocketed coil support core. In terms of firmness it rates a 7 out of 10, or firm. WinkBeds has also released a counterpart, the WinkBed Blue Series 1 Mattress, which has a softer feel.

We’ll run through the details of the WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress, examining the bed’s materials, construction, and how it performed during our in-house tests. We’ll also discuss practical details such as pricing and sleep trial terms to help you decide if this is the right bed for you.

Testing Team Takeaways

To test the WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress, we had three people on our testing team each take the bed home with them for one week. Here are their initial observations.

Jeremy Klein

Jeremy Klein

Senior Product Testing Manager

side sleeper

160 pounds

nightly melatonin user

I’m a huge fan of Winkbed, so I was excited to learn about this huge, retail-only luxury option.

While the array of layers in this 17 inch mattress probably isn’t completely necessary for myself as an average weight side sleeper, I found it very comfortable nonetheless, and I could tell this bed is clearly capable of supporting any sleeper weight or position.

Mary Fenton

Mary Fenton

Head of Product Content

combination sleeper

150 pounds

sleeps with noise machine

Maybe it’s the mystique of this bed being a retail-only model, maybe it’s the blue, or maybe it’s the princess-and-the-pea height (at 17 inches tall!), but I’m a fan of the Wink Blue Series 2. Allure aside, this mattress puts the work in. With multiple cooling properties (latex, gel-infused foam, coil core), it kept this hot sleeper comfortable all night.

The Blue 2 is a bit more firm than the classic WinkBed luxury firm, but it also feels more balanced: the plush Euro top is super comfortable but also responsive (yay latex) and the coil core provides even support. Rolling around and getting on and off the bed did require more effort than other similar hybrids, but I didn’t really find the need to do so because it was so dreamy to just lie still.

Danny Noyed

Daniel Noyed

Senior Product Editor

back sleeper

165 pounds

dunks head in bowl of ice water in the morning

I’m also a WinkBed fan, so I was interested to see what their new line had to offer. Overall, I really loved my time on the WinkBed Blue Series 2. It was on the firmer side, especially when it comes to support, but it didn’t feel as tough to sleep on as some other firm beds. The comfort layers provided a surprising amount of cushiness that I wouldn’t normally expect from latex, and as a hot sleeper I loved how I never woke up in a sweat.

Sleeping Style and Body Weight

WinkBeds Blue Series 2

Sleeper Type

Under 130 lbs

130-230 lbs

Above 230 lbs

Side Sleepers

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

9/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Back Sleepers

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8.5/10

130-230 lbs

10/10

Above 230 lbs

8.5/10

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7/10

130-230 lbs

8.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7/10

Side Sleepers

Side sleepers weighing between 130 and 230 pounds on our testing team reported outstanding pressure relief with the WinkBed Blue Series 2. For these testers, the mattress cradled the hips and shoulders, allowing these wider body parts to settle gently into the mattress and helping promote even spinal alignment.

Given its relatively firm feel, side sleepers under 130 pounds were pleasantly surprised to find that the Blue Series 2 Mattress caused fewer pressure points than other latex hybrids. Side sleepers in this weight range generally need a plusher mattress to cushion tender areas, but the quilted cover helped provide some padding.

On the other end of the spectrum, side sleepers over 230 pounds found the mattress fairly comfortable, although they experienced slight pressure buildup where the hips and shoulders made contact with the mattress’ firmer support layers.

Back Sleepers

The WinkBed Blue Series 2 earned high marks from back sleepers across the board, including best-in-class scores from back sleepers between 130 and 230 pounds.

Back sleepers require a fairly firm surface to keep the spine aligned, and the WinkBed Blue Series 2 delivers on this point. The gel quilted cover also helps fill in the lumbar area, preventing pressure buildup in the lower back.

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleepers generally do best with a firm mattress, which helps prevent excessive sinkage in the abdomen to keep the spine on an even plane. The WinkBed Blue Series 2 offers the ideal firmness level for stomach sleepers between 130 and 230 pounds, with the thin quilting providing more than enough pressure relief for this sleeping position.

Our testers weighing more than 230 pounds found the mattress a little too soft. These sleepers experienced pressure buildup along the spinal curve as a result of the abdomen sinking too far into the mattress. By contrast, stomach sleepers under 130 pounds found the mattress overly firm, and experienced pressure points as a result.

Mattress Performance

In addition to the hands-on feedback from our team, we conduct a number of quantitative tests in our Test Lab. The below ratings are based on the experience of our testers.

Motion Isolation

7/10

The Blue Series 2 has a nice underlying bounce to it, but I found it surprisingly decent at isolating motion. I never felt stuck in the bed, but I didn’t feel a ton of movement when sharing it either. — Danny

As with most latex hybrids, some motion transfer is to be expected with the WinkBed Blue Series 2. Latex and coils are both responsive materials, and the firm surface of the bed doesn’t absorb motion as well as a softer surface might.

On the other hand, Talalay latex has high point elasticity, which does help limit the impact on surrounding areas. The support core also features individually wrapped coils that cut down on motion transfer compared with traditional innerspring models.

All in all, our testers experienced average disruption when their sleeping partner changed positions. If you’re very sensitive to movement, you may want to go for a foam model.

Pressure Relief

7.5/10

The Euro-top gave the bed a nice plush surface feel that relieved some pressure around my shoulders, but under that the bed is quite firm and sturdy. It will conform a little to your body, but don’t expect the pressure-relief of softer memory foam beds. — Jeremy

As a latex hybrid, the mattress doesn’t provide the signature “hug” of memory foam. However, the quilted cover does help cushion pressure points, and the latex forms a loose cradle to evenly distribute body weight.

Our testers weighing between 130 and 230 pounds sunk in just the right amount to receive balanced support and pressure relief. On the other hand, some testers under 130 pounds found the mattress a little too firm, and some over 230 pounds experienced compromised spinal alignment due to the midsection sinking in lower than the rest of the body.

Temperature Control

9.5/10

Of the many wonderful things latex has going for it, its ability to ward off and distribute heat is near the top of the list. In addition to having plush Talalay latex, the foam in this retail-only WinkBed also has cooling properties (gel). Normally I don’t fall for cooling gimmickry but add to all of the above an airy spring core and a solid week of cool rest, and the Blue Series 2 has made this hot sleeper a believer. — Mary

The WinkBed Blue Series 2 performed extremely well during our temperature control tests. After removing a heat source, temperature readings confirmed that the mattress was quick to return to a neutral temperature. Several sleepers on our team also have a tendency to sleep hot, and reported that they experienced minimal overheating with the WinkBed Blue Series 2.

These results are to be expected with a natural latex hybrid. Talalay latex is breathable, and since it doesn’t conform very closely to the sleeper, the material leaves plenty of room for heat to dissipate. The coil support core also helps promote airflow.

Edge Support

9/10

The Blue Series 2 had WinkBed’s classic strong edges. I noticed a bit of dipping when I sat on the edge since the mattress is so thick, but I felt well-supported the entire time and had an easy time getting in and out of bed. — Danny

The WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress does a stellar job of resisting sinkage along the edges. The firm surface and stronger coils around the perimeter of the bed allow minimal compression, helping the edges keep their shape when pressure is applied.

Our testers had no problem sitting on the edge or climbing in and out of bed. They were also able to sleep right up to the edge without feelings of roll-off, which is an advantage for couples as it opens up more usable surface area.

Ease of Movement

9.5/10

The blue series is about as responsive and bouncy as can be, and I had absolutely no problem rolling around and changing positions during my time with it. — Jeremy

Testers found it very easy to switch sleeping positions on the WinkBed Blue Series 2. This is on par with most latex hybrids, as latex and coils are both slightly bouncy and quick to regain their shape. Given that the mattress rates well for stomach, back, and side sleepers alike, it’s a good option for combination sleepers or sleepers who toss and turn.

With its firm (7) rating, the Blue Series 2 keeps sleepers decidedly on, rather than in, the bed. If you’re not a fan of the stuck-in-the-bed feeling that comes with memory foam, this latex hybrid model is a good alternative.

Off-Gassing

9/10

There was hardly any smell to the Blue Series 2 after unboxing it, and what little there was cleared out of the room pretty quickly. – Mary

We detected little to no off-gassing odors coming from the WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress. Although the mattress contains several polyfoam layers, the airflow through the coils ensures that any smells dissipate quickly.

Off-gassing is typically associated with foam mattresses, which release volatile organic compounds (VOCs) that were created during manufacturing. The off-gassing process generally lasts a few days at most and is not considered harmful.

WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress Review Breakdown

The WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress is a latex hybrid with a firm (7) feel. At 17 inches thick, its profile is well above average, so this mattress requires deep pocket fitted sheets and may also need an extra-supportive bed frame to handle the extra weight.

A quilted gel cover provides initial pressure relief, with the gel included as a way to draw heat away from the surface of the bed.

Below the cover is a 3-inch layer of copper-infused Talalay latex, which is known for its light and springy feel. Copper is also said to help minimize heat retention. 

A 2-inch polyfoam transitional layer precedes the support core, which consists of a robust 10-inch pocketed coil system. The coils are 15-gauge, meaning they are relatively flexible. As they are individually wrapped, they’re able to move independently of one another and cut down on motion transfer. The perimeter is reinforced with stronger coils to add stability along the edges.

In the base, a final 2-inch layer of polyfoam provides structural support and helps absorb any extra motion from the coils.

Firmness

Firm – 7

Mattress Type

Latex Hybrid

Construction

The WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress consists of Talalay latex, polyfoam, and pocketed coils encased in a quilted cover.

Cover Material:

Quilted Cover With Gel

Comfort Layer:

3″ Copper Talalay Latex

2″ Polyfoam

Support Core:

10″ Pocketed Coils (15 Gauge, Reinforced Perimeter)

2″ Base Polyfoam

Mattress Prices and Sizing

The WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress is available in the six standard mattress sizes. Pricing may vary from store to store, but we expect the Blue Series 2 to be more expensive than the standard WinkBed on average.

Latex hybrid mattresses are typically one of the more expensive types. The Blue Series 2 is also thicker than the average mattress and therefore involves more raw materials. All in all, the higher cost makes sense, especially considering that latex hybrids tend to have a longer-than-average lifespan.

Sizes Dimensions Height Weight Price
Twin 38″ x 75″ 17″ N/A Varies
Twin XL 38″ x 80″ 17″ N/A Varies
Full 54″ x 75″ 17″ N/A Varies
Queen 60″ x 80″ 17″ N/A Varies
King 76″ x 80″ 17″ N/A Varies
California King 72″ x 84″ 17″ N/A Varies

Trial, Warranty, and Shipping Policies

Availability

Currently, the WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress is only available for purchase from select brick-and-mortar stores, so regional availability may vary.

Shipping

It’s common for mattress retailers to offer free shipping, although we recommend double-checking before purchasing as this may vary depending on the seller.

Additional Services

Some of the stores that carry the WinkBed Blue Series 2 Mattress offer optional White Glove delivery for an extra fee. You can also inquire with the retailer if they’re able to remove your old mattress when delivering the new one.

Sleep Trial

Given that the Blue Series 2 is only available through third-party retailers, this mattress may or may not qualify for the WinkBeds standard 120-night sleep trial. Some retailers offer a shorter sleep trial, or charge a higher processing fee. Returns for mattresses purchased from a third-party retailer are handled by the retailer, not by WinkBeds directly.

Warranty

Most WinkBeds models come with a limited lifetime warranty, which covers defects including indentations of at least 1.5 inches and splits or cracks in the foam or springs. 

If purchased through a third-party retailer, the retailer may set out its own warranty terms, which may be more or less favorable than the standard WinkBeds policy. Although the WinkBeds warranty generally covers purchases from an authorized retailer, it’s a good idea to check before buying.

Still have questions?

Our product experts have extensive experience testing just about every sleep product on the market. Send an email to [email protected] with your questions and we’ll help you find exactly what you’re looking for.

Learn more about our Editorial Team