National Sleep Foundation Elects New Board of Directors


National Sleep Foundation Elects New Board of Directors

Washington, D.C. (July 1, 2019): The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) has elected Richard K. Bogan, MD, as Chairman of the foundation’s board of directors. Dr. Bogan is the President of Bogan Sleep Consultants, LLC, and Chief Medical Officer of SleepMed, Inc., the largest sleep diagnostic company in the United States. He is also Associate Clinical Professor at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine and Associate Clinical Professor at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, S.C. Dr. Bogan has served as principal investigator on numerous clinical trials and has a variety of publications and research interests that focus on topics such as narcolepsy, insomnia, sleep apnea, shift work sleep disorder, restless legs syndrome, chronic fatigue/fibromyalgia and circadian rhythm abnormality. As Chairman of the National Sleep Foundation, Dr. Bogan will lead a board of directors composed of physicians, scientists, and business professionals.

“It’s an honor to serve as the Chair of the National Sleep Foundation Board of Directors. I look forward to an exciting year of new programs and initiatives to improve sleep health,” said Bogan. 

Also starting July 1, Lauren Hale, PhD, will serve as Vice Chairman. Dr. Hale is Professor of Preventive Medicine, Program in Public Health, at SUNY, Stony Brook. Benjamin Gerson, MD, Thomas Jefferson University, will serve as Treasurer, and David N. Neubauer, MD, Associate Director of the Johns Hopkins Sleep Disorders Center, will serve as Secretary. Other members of the board include Helen Chang, RPh, Thomas DiSalvi, CDS, Paul P. Doghramji, MD, Jerrold A. Kram, MD, John Lopos, Steven E. Lerman, MD, MPH, Maurice M. Ohayon, MD, DSc, PhD, Temitayo Oyegbile, MD, PhD, Rafael Pelayo, MD, Kristen E. Prinz, JD, Stephen H. Sheldon, DO, and Desmar Walkes, MD.

Contact: NSF Communications