Sleep Health and Safety - Public Health Track Faculty

Home >> Sleep Health and Safety - Public Health Track Faculty

, is the John L. Miclot Professor of Medicine, Director of the Center for Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology and Chief of the Division of Sleep Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Pack’s current major research focus is sleep and its disorders, in particular sleep apnea. Dr. Pack has studied the basic neurobiological processes which facilitate apnea during sleep. Dr. Pack is currently studying the molecular mechanisms of sleepiness and the genetics of sleep disorders. He is also currently engaged in studies to identify genes conferring risk for obstructive sleep apnea and determining different responses to sleep deprivation. He has received a number of awards for his activities including the Nathaniel Kleitman Award and the William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine.

Friday, March 5, 2010 (11:00 am - 12:00 pm)
Sleep Disorders & Medical Certification for Transportation Operators

Barbara Phillips, MD, MSPH , received her MD from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in 1977 and her Master of Science in Public Health from the University of Kentucky in Lexington, Kentucky in 1991. She completed her internal medicine residency and pulmonary fellowship training at the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond.
Dr. Phillips is currently professor of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. Dr. Phillips is board-certified in Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Medicine, Critical Care Medicine, and Sleep Medicine. She directs the Sleep Center at the University of Kentucky Good Samaritan Hospital in Lexington.

Additionally, Dr. Phillips serves on the Board of Regents of the American College of Chest Physicians (ACCP), on the Medical Advisory Board of the Federal Motor Carriers Safety Administration of the Department of Transportation, and as Chair of the Steering Committee of the Sleep Institute of the ACCP. She is immediate past-chairman of the National Sleep Foundation, and has served on the boards of the American Lung Association, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, and the American Board of Sleep Medicine. She has received a Sleep Academic Award from the National Institutes of Health and

Learn about how sleep impacts your health
Powered by National Sleep Foundation